Hot Cross Buns Part 2

April 6, 2012 at 5:28 pm | Posted in Eating and Drinking | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

This is the third year of hot cross bun baking in the FFS kitchen. I’ve been trying different recipes each year in my quest for perfection. Last year it was Delia’s; the year before I actually can’t remember although I do remember burning them slightly (the buns were hot, I was cross).

Baking guru Dan Lepard’s hot cross buns have an exciting addition of cider, so perhaps I’ll try these next year. He also has a more complex recipe involving making a dough and a sponge – definitely one to work up to I think. Anyway, Hot Cross Buns Twenty Twelve were courtesy of Edd Kimber and Waitrose Kitchen magazine (the recipe is also available online here).

They were easy to make and were spicy and orange-zesty with a nice soft crumb and a sticky golden syrup glaze. The cross method (a quite runny mix of water and flour) produced a better cross shape than Delia’s method which involved rolling out pieces of dough and laying them on top of the buns (too hard when baked). This year I got to use a piping bag and nozzle – hooray! I hope Joan the Cook would be proud of me. Now I must resist eating any more…at least until breakfast time tomorrow.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Like the look of that milk jug…wherever did you get it from?

  2. A present from a very good friend! x

  3. […] Easter I endeavour to make hot cross buns (you can see some of my previous efforts here and here. Oh, and also here). This Good Friday has been a little too hectic for the soothing […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

